On July 1, 2018, Maryland’s minimum wage will increase to $10.10 per hour. This increase follows last year’s increase to $9.25 per hour. The federal minimum wage will remain at $7.25 per hour. Maryland law requires that most employees receive at least the minimum wage per hour worked. There are limited exceptions for tipped employees, student workers, carnival workers, and others.
Minimum wage violations (as well as overtime violations) are subject to the Maryland Wage Payment and Collection Law and if your employer has not paid you properly you may be entitled to three times your damages as well at attorney’s fees. If you believe that your employer has not paid you properly contact us today.